Tag: MSR

THE 2019 Glenfiddich competitors pictured above from left: Callum Beaumont, Iain Speirs, Connor Sinclair, Niall Stewart, Jack Lee, Finlay Johnston, Glenn Brown, Andrew Hayes, Stuart Liddell and Gordon McCready.

Overall WINNERS:  1. Finlay Johnston, 2. Connor Sinclair, 3. Glenn Brown
Ceòl Mór
1. Glenn Brown, Farewell to the Queen’s Ferry
2. Finlay Johnston, Donald Gruamach’s March
3. Iain Speirs, Scarce of Fishing
4. Jack Lee, Lament for the Laird of Anapool
5. Connor Sinclair, Lachlan MacNeill Campbell of Kintarbert‘s Fancy
Judges: Patricia Henderson, Colin MacLellan and Stuart Samson.
MSR (twice through)
1. Connor Sinclair, Major Manson’s Farewell to Clachantrushal, Susan MacLeod, Broadford Bay
2. Finlay Johnston, Inverlochy Castle, Cat Lodge, The Smith Chilliechassie
3. Niall Stewart, P.M.J. McWilliams, Glentruim, Ca’ the Ewes
4. Callum Beaumont, The Stirlingshire Militia, Lady Louden, The Little Cascade
5. Stuart Liddell, Mrs John MacColl, The Shepherd’s Crook, John Morrison of Assynt House
Judges: Murray Henderson, Dr Angus MacDonald and John Wilson.

Considering tune selections for solo competitions

by Fergus Muirhead, at the Glenfiddich Piping Championship 2019 One of the biggest decisions a competitor has to make during his or her preparation for a competition is the tunes they are going to submit. In some events they have a free choice of music while in others they have […]

Dan Nevans: The spirit of rock ‘n roll

Dan Nevans: The spirit of rock ‘n roll

Whoa, whoa, whoa! Don’t start reading this blog yet. Go to Spotify and bang on this playlist here. No shuffling. Play as it is from end to end. At a volume that will get you an ASBO (that’s an Anti-Social Behaviour Order for those not familair with Scotland’s crime legislation). […]