Last year's competitors.
Last year’s competitors.

The William Grant Foundation and The National Piping Centre are delighted to announce the list of invited players for this year’s Glenfiddich Piping Championships.

The Glenfiddich was established in 1974 to inspire the world’s finest individual pipers and to seek the best overall exponents on Ceòl Mòr – or Piobaireachd (the great music) – and Ceòl Beag – or light muisc (the little music). The event is held annually in Blair Castle, Blair Atholl, Perthshire. Each year 10 competitors qualify to play at this prestigious event through placing in one of a series of qualifying events.

The competition this year takes place on Saturday, October 26, commencing at 10am promptly. The 10 invited competitors, judges and fear an tighe for 2019 are:

Calllum Beaumont
Glenn Brown
Andrew Hayes
Finlay Johnston
Jack Lee
Stuart Liddell
Gordon McCready
Connor Sinclair
Iain Speirs
Niall Stewart

Ceòl Mòr – Patricia Henderson, Colin MacLellan and Stuart Samson.
March, Strathspey & Reel – Murray Henderson, Dr Angus MacDonald and John Wilson.

Fear an Tighe – Gary West

The competitors list will be confirmed once all the invitations have been accepted.

Following the competition, the annual Pipers’ Ceilidh will take place in the Atholl Palace Hotel in Pitlochry, with a limited number of tickets for this also available to purchase, along with a competition ticket. You can get tickets online here