SPSL C Grade and Open Amateur results


UPDATED WITH THE TUNES PLAYED – The results from the recent online competition organised by the Scottish Piping Society of London (SPSL) are as follows:

C Grade
Ceòl Mòr
– 1. Luke Kennedy (Lady MacDonalds’ Lament); 2. Scott Armstrong (I Got a Kiss of the King’s Hand); 3. Andrew McPhee (Isabel MacKay); 4. Calum Kaye (The Groat); 5. Harris MacLennan (The Edinburgh Piobaireachd); 6. Aiden Bowen (Lament for Donald Dughal MacKay).
Judges: Dr Angus MacDonald and Andrew Hayes.

MSR – 1. Jack Williamson (The Taking of Beaumont Hamel, Caledonian Society of London, Ca’ the Ewes); 2. Josh Chandler (Donald MacLellan of Rothesay, Highland Harry, The Smith of Chilliehassie); 3. Kyle Shead (Abercairney Highlanders, Tulloch Castle, The Little Cascade); 4. David Stulpner (Hugh Kennedy, Maggie Cameron, Alick C. MacGregor); 5. Peter Skae (P.M. J. McWilliams, The Shepherds Crook, The Sheepwife); 6. Ross Davison (Inveran, Dora MacLeod, The Sheepwife).
Judges: Gordon McCready and Glenn Brown.

Open Amateur
Ceòl Mòr
– 1. Justin Howland (The Big Spree); 2. Angus Burke (Hector MacLean’s Warning); 3. Dane Grant (Battle of Auldearn); 4. Robert Wilson (Lament for Donald of Laggan); 5. Gill Cairns (Cabar Feidh Gu Brath).
Judges: John Wilson and Roddy Livingstone.
6/8 March – 1. Angus Burke; 2. Maximilion Yeo; 3. Robert Wilson; 4. Justin Howland; 5. Scott Long.
Judges: Michael Fitzhenry & Andrew Hall.
2/4 March – 1. Justin Howland; 2. Angus Burke; 3. Maximilion Yeo 4. Andrew Nelson; 5. Robert Wilson.
Judges: Iain Speirs and Sarah Muir.
Strathspey & Reel – 1. Andrew Nelson; 2. Justin Howland; 3. Angus Burke 4. Kevin Darmadi; 5. Maximilion Yeo.
Judges: Iain Speirs and Sarah Muir.

Best SPSL Member – Dane Grant.

SPSL President, Mike Fitzhenry declared the competition, the first of its kind attempted by the SPSL, a success with 80+ competitors globally.