St. Macartin’s Cathedral, Enniskillen.

After less than one month, hundreds of pipers around the Commonwealth have so far registered their intention to participate in the tribute planned for the Queen’s Platinum Jubilee next summer.

Among the many groups and pipe bands that have signalled their intention to participate are 100 pipers in Enniskillen, Northern Ireland who will gather in the grounds of St. Macartin’s Cathedral for a mass band rendition of Stuart Liddell’s tune which the Inveraray & District Pipe Band Pipe Major composed for the event, Diu Regnare.

In June 2012, the Queen attended a thanksgiving service at the cathedral as part of her Diamond Jubilee. The pipers will play as a beacon is lit.

The event takes place on June 2, 2022.

• Register your participation here.

The overall league winners for the National Piping Centre’s Competition League for Amateur Solo Pipers (CLASP) 2020/21 year have been calculated.

In Grade 1, Scott Long from Nova Scotia [pictured] takes the top spot, with Eddie Boland from Ireland taking Grade 2 and Colin MacKenzie from Scotland taking Grade 3.

CLASP’s World Solo Amateur Piping Competition, held at this year’s Piping Live! will start the new 2021/22 season.

• To join, go to

The latest online solo piping competition organised by the Up To The Line podcast took place last week.

In addition to the usual ceòl mòr and MSR competitions, there were categories for a medley, a Donald MacLeod tune, a Fred Morrison tune, a Gordon Duncan tune plus own choice categories.


Under 12
March – 1. Rory Menzies; 2. Poppy Middleton; 3. Hamish Stephens; 4. Lachlan Rennie.
Judge: Sandy Cameron. 

Strathspey & Reel – 1. Rory Menzies; 2. Lachlan Rennie; 3.Poppy Middleton; 4. Hamish Stephens. 
Judge: Sandy Cameron. 

Under 15
Ceòl Mòr – 1. Lewis Stewart. 
Judge: Stuart Easton.
March – 1. Magnus Stone; 2. Finlay Rowe; 3. Ewan McCarton; 4. Ewan Johnstone. 
Judge: Sandy Cameron.
Strathspey & Reel – 1. Lewis Stewart; 2. Ewan Johnstone. 
Judge: John Dew.

Callum Wynd form Stirlingshire in Scotland.

Under 18
Ceòl Mòr – 1. Catriona Norman. 
Judge:  Stuart Easton. 
MSR – 1. Catriona Norman; 2. Christopher McCarten. 
Judge: John Dew. 
Hornpipe & Jig – 1. Catriona Norman; 2. Christopher McCarten.
Judge: Sandy Cameron. 

Ceòl Mòr – 1. Sandy Adams (MacLeod’s Salute); 2. Callum Wynd (Lament for MacSwan of Roaig); 3. Hazel Whyte (MacFarlane’s Gathering).
Judge: Stuart Easton. 
MSR – 1. Lachie Dick;  2. Callum Wynd; 3. Kyle Howie; 4. Hazel Whyte. 
Judge: Connor Sinclair.
Hornpipe & Jig – 1. Kyle Howie; 2. Lachie Dick; 3. Donny Maxwell; 4. Callum Wynd. 
Judge: Connor Sinclair.

Other Events 
Medley – 1. Scott Garden; 2. Callum Wynd.
Judge: Stuart Easton.
Donald MacLeod Tune – 1. Callum Wynd; 2. Sandy Adams; 3. Scott Garden; 4. Don Maxwell.
Judge: Stuart Easton.
Own Composition – 1. Sandy Adams; 2. Callum Wynd; 3. Scott Garden; 4. Magnus Stone.
Judge: John Dew 

Gordon Duncan Tune – 1. Kyle Howie;  2. Scott Garden; 3. Callum Wynd; 4. Sandy Adams.
Judge:  Connor Sinclair. 
Fred Morrison Tune – 1. Kyle Howie; 2. Scott Garden; 3. Callum Wynd; 4. Sandy Adams. 
Judge: Connor Sinclair.