After a two year break, the Springbank Invitational Competition makes a return to the Argyll Arms Hotel, Campbeltown on Saturday, September 17 starting at 10am. The competition was initiated in 2000 by the Kintyre Piping Society and has been sponsored by the local distillery, Springbank since its inception.

This year’s invitees are Glenn Brown, Ben Duncan, Alasdair Henderson, Finlay Johnston, Sarah Muir, Gordon McCready, Angus MacColl and Willie McCallum. Judges this year are Iain MacFadyen, Dr Angus MacDonald and John Wilson.

Travellers to Campbeltown for the competition are always given a special welcome by the Society which has been in existence for 70 years. It is hoped that the journey to hear some of the world’s best pipers in the town will inspire young and old alike.

The competitors at the last Springbank Invitational in 2019, from back left: Iain Speirs, Dr Peter McCalister, Willie McCallum, Glenn Brown, Finlay Johnston, Stuart Liddell, Angus MacColl, Roddy MacLeod and Callum Beaumont