Results from Captain John A MacLellan Solo Piping Championships


The Captain John A. MacLellan MBE Solo Piping Competition was held on Saturday, October 1, at the Army School of Bagpipe Music and Highland Drumming at Inchdrewer House, Edinburgh.

Iain Speirs was the overall winner of the Premier Grade, Sarah Muir won the A Grade Piobaireachd and was the A Grade overall winner, Jamie Elder won the B Grade Piobaireachd and was the overall winner of the B Grade, Bobby Allen won the C Grade Piobaireachd and was also the overall winner of the C Grade, and Matt Wilson won the Open Hornpipe & Jig competition.

Premier Piobaireachd competition was won by Finlay Johnstone and gives him a place in the Captain John MacLellan MBE Memorial Recital and Dinner. This event is now run by the Eagle Pipers’ Society who have pencilled in the date and venue as Saturday, August 26, 2023 at the Caledonian Hotel, Edinburgh.

•Pictured from left: Director of Army Bagpipe Music Maj Gordon Rowan MBE, Ross Conner, Cameron May, Steven Gray, Bobby Allen, Jamie Elder, Matt Wilson, Stuart Liddell, Sarah Muir, John Dew, Andrew Ferguson and Colin MacLellan

Premier Piobaireachd

  1. Finlay Johnston
  2. Iain Speirs
  3. Callum Beaumont
  4. Stuart Liddell
  5. Glenn Brown

Premier MSR

  1. Stuart Liddell
  2. Calum Beaumont
  3. Iain Speirs
  4. Glenn Brown
  5. Finlay Johnston

A Grade Piobaireachd

  1. Sarah Muir
  2. Steven Leask
  3. Cameron Macdougall
  4. Innes Smith
  5. Andrew Donlon

A Grade MSR

  1. Steven Gray
  2. Matt Wilson
  3. Greig Canning
  4. Ashley McMichael
  5. Peter Macgregor

B Grade Piobaireachd

  1. Jamie Elder
  2. John Dew
  3. Bradley Parker
  4. Brodie Watson-Massey
  5. Callum Wynd

B Grade MSR

  1. Andrew Ferguson
  2. Ross Miller
  3. Callum Wynd
  4. Angus Macphee
  5. Andrew Donlon

C Grade Piobaireachd

  1. Bobby Allen
  2. Cameron May
  3. James McPetrie
  4. Christopher McLeish
  5. Bruce Erskine

C Grade MSR

  1. Ross Conner
  2. Bobby Allen
  3. Ryan Cupples-Menendez
  4. Cameron May
  5. John McElmurry

Open Hornpipe & Jig

  1. Matt Wilson
  2. Bobby Allen
  3. Sarah Muir
  4. Stuart Liddell
  5. Calum Brown