Solo piping results from London and the Bratach Gorm


The Scottish Piping Society of London have announced this evening that Bruce Gandy is the 2022 winner of the Bratach Gorm and Fred Morrison is the overall winner. The full results are as follows:

An Bratach Gorm

  1. Bruce Gandy (The Unjust Incarceration)
  2. Iain Speirs (Colin Roy Mackenzie’s Lament)
  3. Alan Bevan (Salute to the MacCrimmon Cairn at Boreraig)
  4. Jamie Forrester (The Phantom Piper of Corrieyairick)
  5. Callum Beaumont (The Daughter’s Lament)
•Bratach Gorm winner Bruce Gandy with Fraser Stewart, Vice President of the SPSL.

Overall Champion Piper of the 82nd Annual Competition of the SPSL

  • Fred Morrison
•Overall winner Fred Morrison with Fraser Stewart, Vice President of the SPSL.

William Gillies Memorial Trophy

  1. Finlay Johnston (My Dearest on Earth give me your kiss)
  2. Iain Speirs (MacLeod of Colbeck’s Lament)
  3. Fred Morrison (Scarce of Fishing)
  4. Bruce Gandy (MacDougall’s Gathering)
  5. Callum Beaumont (Lament for Patrick Og MacCrimmon)

London Medallion and John MacFadyen Quaich (for the P Grade double MSR competition) 

  1. Callum Beaumont
  2. Fred Morrison
  3. Alan Bevan
  4. Sarah Muir
  5. Ben Duncan

JB Robertson Rose Bowl (for the P Grade double March competition) 

  1. Fred Morrison
  2. Callum Beaumont
  3. Alan Bevan

Mary Flora Beaton Cup (for the P Grade Hornpipe and Jig competition) 

  1. Fred Morrison
  2. Alasdair Henderson
  3. Callum Beaumont

Overall winner of the A Grade competitions, winning the Terry Maginn Trophy:  

  • Innes Smith

RG Lawrie Ram’s Horn Snuff Mull (for the A Piobaireachd competition) 

  1. Innes Smith (Lament for the Viscount of Dundee)
  2. Derek Midgley (Port Urlar)
  3. Sarah Muir (The Old Men of the Shells – Setting No. 1)
  4. Edward McIlwaine (The Battle of the Pass of Crieff)
  5. Ben Duncan (MacDougall’s Gathering)

The Strachan Memorial (for the AMSR competition) 

  1. John Mulhearn
  2. Nick Hudson
  3. Gordon Conn
  4. Andrew Ferguson
  5. Jenny Hazzard

John Roe Plate (for the B Piobaireachd competition) 

  1. Ashley McMichael (Lord Lovat’s Lament)
  2. Gordon Conn (The Mackay’s Banner)
  3. Ciaren Ross (Patrick Og MacCrimmon’s Lament)
  4. Jonathan Simpson (Lament for the Viscount of Dundee)
  5. Bradley Parker (The End of the Great Bridge)

London Scottish Hodden Grey (for the BMSR competition) 

  1. John Dew
  2. Angus MacPhee
  3. Bradley Parker
  4. Andrew Hall
  5. Jamie Elder

Overall winner of the B Grade competitions, winning the Angus Nicol Award: 

  • Bradley Parker

Combined A & B Grade Hornpipe and Jig Competition

  1. Bradley Parker
  2. Jenny Hazzard
  3. Angus MacPhee

Overall Junior Prize and Winner of the Jim Caution Memorial Quaich:  

  • Kyle Cameron 

SPSL Junior Piobaireachd 

  1. Kyle Cameron 
  2. Duncan Winters 

SPSL British Airways Pipe Band Trophy for the Junior MSR 

  1. Duncan Winters 
  2. Kyle Cameron 

Highland and Islands Society Trophy for the Junior Slow Air and Jig 

  1. Kyle Cameron
  2. Duncan Winters