Vote now for ‘piping’ in the Scots Trad Music Awards


The 20th Scots Trad Music Awards will be held on December 4, 2022, in the Caird Hall in Dundee. The aim of the awards is to champion top Scottish traditional musicians of all genres, recognising and celebrating the wealth of talent, and bring it to the media spotlight.

Pipers, pipe bands, piping CDs, piping media, piping tutors, pipe-driven folk bands and piping organisations all have been nominated for awards in various categories, and I’m sure they would all appreciate your vote. If you would like to support the piping connections in the awards this year, you could award your vote to any of these nominees: Brighde Chaimbeul, Ross Ainslie & Steven Byrnes; Piping Live! Festival; Isle of Arran Music School (Pipe Band); Tartan Tunes; The Big Rab Show; Brighde Chaimbeul; Malin Lewis; Ross Miller; Breabach; Eabhal; Mànran; Skerryvore; Trail West; James Duncan MacKenzie; and Chris Waite (Gran’s House).

The award for Pipe Band of the Year is sponsored by The National Piping Centre, and the four bands who have been nominated are: Inveraray and District Pipe Band; Kilchoman Distillery Isle of Islay Pipe Band; National Youth Pipe Band of Scotland; and St. Columba’s School Pipe Band.

Read more about the awards and nominees here.