Muir wins 2019 Dunvegan Medal [updated]


Updated with Col. Jock MacDonald Clasp results.

Sarah Muir, pictured, won the Dunvegan Medal today on Day 1 of the annual Skye Gathering held in Portree, Isle of Skye.

Sarah will be invited to play in the 2020 Silver Chanter.

Only MacCrimmon tunes or tunes with a MacCrimmon association are played in this competiton. Pipers enter four tunes and are asked to play one.


Jamie Forrester celebrates winning the Col. Jock MacDonald Clasp.
Jamie Forrester celebrates winning the Col. Jock MacDonald Clasp.

Dunvegan Medal – 1. Sarah Muir (Lament for the Earl of Antrim); 2. Steven Leask (Lament for MacLeod of Colbecks); 3. Andrew Ferguson (Earl of Ross’s March); 4. John Dew (Rory MacLoude’s Lament); 5. Anna Kummerlöw (A Flame of Wrath for Patrick Caogach).
Judges: Alan Forbes, Malcolm McRae and John Wilson.
20 played. The competition took place in the Skye Gathering Hall.

6/8 March – 1. Derek Midgley; 2. Jamie Forrester; 3. Finlay Cameron; 4. Jamie Elder; 5. John Dew.

Hornpipe & Jig – 1. Jamie Forrester; 2. Brodie Watson-Massey; 3. Finlay Cameron; 4. Steven Leask; 5. Greig Canning.

The Hornpipe & jig and 6/8 March competitions took place in St Columba’s Church. Both were judged by Iain MacFadyen and Iain Morrison.

Col. Jock MacDonald Clasp (for former winners of the Dunvegan Medal) – 1. Jamie Forrester (Earl of Ross’s March); 2. Sarah Muir (Lament for Donald Duaghal MacKay); 3. Derek Midgley (Lament for MacLeod of Colbecks); 4. Simon McKerrell (Mrs MacLeod of Talisker’s Salute)

Under 18
Ceòl Mòr – 1. Archie MacLean; 2. Eòsaph Caimbeul; 3. Tòmas Young.

Open March Strathspey & Reel – 1. Tòmas Young; 2. Ciaran Kellet; 3. Hector Finlayson.
Archie MacLean judged both events.