Liddell wins the 2019 Masters


Stuart Liddell from Inveraray, Scotland won the Masters Solo Piping Competition yesterday. The competition is the second major event of the festival, the first being the Silver Chanter which was held on Saturday night and which was won by Jack Lee, Canada.

Liddell, was the overall winner with a first in the Piobaireachd. Connior Sinclair from Crieff, Scotland won the MSR.

The win means the Inveraray & District Pipe Major will be invited to compete at this year’s Glenfiddich Solo Piping Championships in October at Blair Castle in Perthshire, Scotland. Liddell also gains an invitation to the 2020 Silver Chanter next August. It is his second consecutive overall Masters win and fourth win in total.

The Masters and Silver Chanter are sponsored overall by Glenfiddich. The competition is open to pipers who have won the Gold Medal and those who have won ‘A’ Grade competitions at either the Argyllshire Gathering or the Northern Meeting.

The competition began at 08:30 yesterday morning when Ian K. MacDonald took to the stage to play The Daughter’s Lament. The event was broadcast over the internet, courtesy of sponsor R.G. Hardie.

One piper, John-Angus Smith, withdrew.

Full results:

Piobaireachd – 1. Stuart Liddell (The Unjust Incarceration); 2. Fred Morrison (Scarce of Fishing); 3. Callum Beaumont (Donald Gruamach’s March); 5. Roddy MacLeod (Earl of Ross’s March).
Judges: Alan Forbes, Dr Angus MacDonald and Dr Jack Taylor.

MSR – 1. Connor Sinclair (Major Manson at Clachantrushal, Arniston Castle, Broadford Bay); 2. Angus D. MacColl (The Lochaber Gathering, Cameronian Rant, Pretty Marion); 3. Willie McCallum ((Murdo MacLeod, Lady MacKenzie of Gairloch, The Man from Glengarry); 4. Finlay Johnston (Inverlochy Castle, Maggie Cameron, Thompson’s Dirk).
Judges: Ian Duncan, Iain MacFadyen and Bob Worrall.

So far, those who have earned an invite to play at this year’s Glenfiddich are:
• Finlay Johnston (the 2018 Glenfiddich Champion)
• Callum Beaumont ( overall winner at the London competitions last November)
• Glenn Brown (winner of the 2018 Bratach Gorm).

The remaining six places will be determined at the upcoming Argyllshire Gathering and Northern Meeting.