2019 Argyllshire Gathering: Liddell wins Senior Piob.


Stuart Liddell, pictured right, rounded off what has been a phenomenal week for him by winning the Senior Piobaireachd at the 2019 Argyllshire Gathering which kicked off today in of Oban in wet weather.

This is the Inveraray piper’s fifth win of the Senior Piobaireachd at Oban.

Last Saturday, Liddell led Inveraray & District Pipe Band to its second Grade 1 World Pipe Band Championships win. A few days before that he won the 2019 Masters Invitational.

Liddell had left the Corran Halls to tune a piano where he was informed of his win.

The Gold Medal went to Andrew Hayes from Nepean, a part of Ottawa in Ontario, Canada. The Silver Medal was won by Ben McClamrock of Washington D. C., USA.

Stay tuned for the remaining results as we receive them.

Senior Piobaireachd – 1. Stuart Liddell (Lament for the Union); 2. Iain Speirs (The Edinburgh Piobaireachd); 3. Stuart Easton (The Daughter’s Lament); 4. Callum Beaumont (Scarce of Fishing); 5. Alan Bevan (The Daughter’s Lament).
Judges: John Wilson, Willie Morrison and Stuart Samson.

Gold Medal – 1. Andrew Hayes (Old Men of the Shells); 2. Sandy Cameron; 3. Andrew Donlon; 4. Nick Hudson; 5. Cameron Drummond.
Judges: Ronnie McShannon, Patricia Henderson and Chris Armstrong.

Silver Medal – 1. Ben McClamrock; 2. Alex Gandy; 3. Finlay Cameron; 4. Steven Leask; 5. Anna Kümmerlow.
Judges: Bill Livingstone, Bill Wotherspoon and Bruce Hitchings.

Former Winners’ MSR – 1. Gordon McCreadie; 2. Iain Speirs; 3. Willie MacCallum; 4. Jack Lee; 5. Angus MacColl Snr.
Judges: Michael Grey, Walter Cowan and Barry Donaldson.

MacGregor Memorial (Final) – 1. Ruaridh Brown (Lament for the Iolaire); 2. Campbell Wilson (Lachlan MacNeill Campbell of Kintarbert’s Fancy); 3. Gregor McDonald (Battle of the Pass of Crieff); 4. Angus MacPhee (I Gave a Kiss to the King’s Hand).
Judges: Malcolm McRae, Alan Forbes, Dr Jack Taylor and Bob Worrall.

MacGregor Memorial (Heat 1) – Brodie Watson-Massey, Ruaridh Brown, Campbell Wilson and Laureano Thomas-Sanchez, USA all went through to the Final.
Judges: Malcolm McRae and Alan Forbes.

MacGregor Memorial (Heat 2) – Alastair Bevan, Luke Kennedy, Gregor MacDonald and Angus MacPhee.
Judges: Jack Taylor and Bob Worrall.

The Northern Meeting takes place in Inverness next week. Both it and The Argyllshire Gathering are the two main competitions in the solo piping world.