Lochaber results


Sean McKeown, right, was the overall winner yesterday at the Lochaber Gathering which was held once again in the Nevis Centre in Fort William.

Sean, from Ontario, beat 10 other quality competitors for the Gold Lochaber Axe for Piobaireachd. He also gained two other firsts.

Earlier this year, organisers changed the date of the competition so as to have it sandwiched between The Argyllshire Gathering and The Northern Meeting. Unsurprisingly, there was a high overseas contingent yesterday.

The Lochaber Gathering, immortalised in G. S. MacLennan’s eponymous 2/4 march, was first held in the early 1800s and was always a prestigious event. The prize money on offer is among the highest.

P/A Grade:
(Lochaber Gold Medal) – 1. James McHattie; 2. Sean McKeown; 3. Ian K. MacDonald; 4. Derek Midgley.
Strathspey & Reel – 1. Sean McKeown; 2. Andrew Carlisle; 3. Ben McClamrock; 4. James McHattie.
Hornpipe & Jig – 1. Sean McKeown; 2. Liam Kernaghan; 3. Jamie Elder; 4. Andrew Carlisle.

Ceòl Mòr (Gold Lochaber Axe) – 1. Sean McKeown (End of the Great Bridge); 2. Derek Midgley (MacLeod of MacLeod’s Lament); 3. Sandy Cameron (Lachlan MacNeill Campbell of Kintarbert’s Fancy); 4. Ian K. MacDonald (Donald Gruamach’s March).
Judges: Roddy Livingstone and Robert Wallace.

B/C Grade:
Ceòl Mòr (Silver Lochaber Axe) – 1. Andrew Lewis; 2. William Rowe; 3. Ben McClamrock; 4. Jamie Elder.
MSR – 1. Sandy Cameron; 2. Andrew Donlon; 3. John Dew; 4. Zephan Knichel.
Judges: Lewis Barclay and Roger Huth.

Bobby Allen
Bobby Allen beneath the north face of Ben Nevis yesterday. Bobby, from North Lanarkshire, has chalked up 52 firsts so far this year.

18 and Under
Ceòl Mòr
– 1. Hazel Whyte; 2. Andrew Orr.
MSR – 1. Hazel Whyte; 2. Andrew Orr.
Jig – 1. Hazel Whyte; 2. Andrew Orr.

15 and Under
Ceòl Mòr
– 1. Bobby Allen (Battle of Auldearn, No. 2); 2 Laura Robertson.
MSR – 1. Bobby Allen; 2. Hector Finlayson;

Judge: Ian K. MacDonald.