Angus MacColl with Alastair MacInnes and Beathag Mhoireasdan.

March 7, Glasgow, Scotland – Angus D. MacColl from Benderloch near Oban won the Glasgow Uist & Barra Association’s annual invitational solo piping competition.

The competition was held today in front of a capacity audience at The National Piping Centre Otago Street in Glasgow’s west end.

The Argyll piper won the overall title by half a point.

Alasdair Henderson in full flight at the Uist & Barra.
Alasdair Henderson in full flight at the Uist & Barra.


Ceòl Mòr – 1. Finlay Johnston (Craigellachie); 2. Angus D. MacColl (The Phantom Piper of the Corrieyairack); 3. Iain Speirs (MacLeod of Colbecks Lament); 4. Glenn Brown (The Edinburgh Piobaireachd); 5. Alasdair Henderson (Scarce of Fishing).

MSR – 1. Sarah Muir (Allan Dodd’s Farewell to Scotland, The Caledonian Society of London, Alick C. MacGregor); 2. Iain Speirs (P.M. J. McWilliams, Arniston Castle, Bessie MacIntyre) 3. Finlay Johnston (John MacColl’s March to Kilbowie Cottage, Bob of Fettercairn, The Sheepwife); 4. Angus D. MacColl (Highland Wedding, The Ewe Wi the Crookit Horn, Captain Lachlan MacPhail of Tiree); 5. Alasdair Henderson (Hugh Kennedy MA BSc, The Piper’s Bonnet, Sandy Cameron).

Hornpipe & Jig – 1. Angus D. MacColl (Redondo Beach, Skye); 2. Alasdair Henderson (The Train Journey North, Alex MacDonald); 3. Connor Sinclair (John MacKenzie’s Fancy, Inspector Donald Campbell of Ness); 4. Iain Speirs (Arthur Gillies, Angus John MacNeil of Barra); 5. Gordon McCready (Raigmore, The Hen’s March).

Most of the competitors today at the 2020 Uist & Barra.

Judges for all events were Colin MacLellan, Patricia Henderson and Chris Armstrong.

Chloe Steele.

Prior to the results being announced, as is customary at the Uist & Barra, the winner of the previous year’s Flora MacDonald Young Piper of the Year, played a short recital. Chloe Steele from South Uist played some slow airs, 2/4 marches and jigs to entertain the capacity audience.

Chloe attended Sgoil Lionacleit between 2010 and 2015 and studied at the National Centre of Excellence in Traditional Music at Plockton High School in Wester Ross.

She is currently in her fourth year of the BA (Hons) music course run by Lews Castle College at the Benbecula UHI campus.

The prize is sponsored by Dougie Macaulay.