The junior and adult solo piping competitions at The Royal National Mòd are taking place in Perth today, Saturday, October 15. Organisers An Comunn Gàidhealach partnered with The Competing Pipers Association, The Army School of Bagpipe Music and Highland Drumming and the Gordon Duncan Memorial Trust to support its piping competitions this year, with senior piping competitions graded for the first time. The opening weekend of this year’s Royal National Mòd in Perth is showcasing the very best in Gaelic culture, with epic sporting clashes and outstanding traditional music both taking centre stage.

The junior piping at North Inch Community Campus saw Stirling High School’s 15-year-old Arran Green scoop the Roderick Munro Quaich for his 2/4 March, and the Lighting Electrical Cup for his Strathspey and Reel and also won the Pìobaireachd and Jig competitions. 16-year-old Dumfries High School S5 pupil Gregor Grierson took home the W.G.G. Wilson Trophy in the 16-18 year old Pìobaireachd competition, and also the Hornpipe and Jig competition. Portree High School’s 12-year-old Seonaidh Forrest came out on top in the 16 years and under Pìobaireachd ground competition.

•Arran Green. Photo: Elaine Livingstone
Gregor Grierson Photo: Elaine Livingstone
Seonaidh Forrest. Photo: Elaine Livingstone

It was a double win for local piper Craig Sutherland at the senior piping event at Perth Theatre. He won the Premier A Grade competitions, in both Pìobaireachd and March, Strathspey and Reel. Originally from Crieff and now based in Perth, Craig plays with Simon Fraser Pipe Band.

•Craig Sutherland Photo: Elaine Livingstone

The first full adult competition results are through and more will be added when received.

Premier & A Grade Ceòl Mòr

  1. Craig Sutherland
  2. John Mulhearn
  3. Peter Mccalister

Premier & A Grade Ceòl Beag

  1. Craig Sutherland
  2. Ciaran Ross
  3. Mike Fitzhenry

B Grade Ceòl Beag

  1. Angus MacPhee
  2. Bradley Parker
  3. Brodie Watson-Massey
  4. Kristopher Coyle
  5. Callum Wynd

B Grade Ceòl Mòr

  1. Brodie Watson
  2. Steven Gray
  3. Bradley Parker
  4. Ross Miller
  5. Greig Canning