Results from the Scottish Pipers Association Professional Competition 2023


The Scottish Pipers Association Professional competition was held in The National Piping Centre today April 22. The overall winner was Roddy MacLeod and the full results were as follows:

C Grade Piobaireachd
1stKeith Bowes£70
2nd Finlay Frame£40
3rd Robbie MacIsaac£20
4th Andrew Smith
5th Kyle Shead

C Grade Marches
1stScott Garden£40
2nd Daniel Johnstone£25
3rd Andrew Smith£20
4th Finlay Frame
5th Kyle Shead
C Grade Strathspey and Reel
1st Finlay Frame£40
2nd Daniel Johnstone£25
3rd Scott Garden£20
4th Kyle Shead
B Grade Piobaireachd
1stEirean Ianetta-MacKay – The SPA Shield£80
2nd Luke Kennedy£50
3rd Brodie Watson-Massey£30
4th Anna Kummerlow
5th Cameron May

•Callum Wynd was the winner of the B Grade and Open Strathspey and Reel. Photo: JohnSlavin /
B Grade Marches
1stAndrew Hall – The Donaldson Barclay Quaich£50
2nd Callum Wynd£30
3rd Stuart McCallum £25
4th Bobby Allan
5th John Dew
B Grade Strathspey and Reel
1st Callum Wynd – The RBS Trophy£50
2nd Andrew Hall £30
3rd Stuart McCallum £25
4th Bobby Allan
5th John Dew

•Andrew Hall was the winner of the B Grade and the Open Marches. Photo: JohnSlavin /
Open Marches
1stAndrew Hall – Donald MacDougall Trophy£80
2nd Callum Wynd£60
3rd Stuart McCallum £30
4th Bobby Allan 
5th John Dew 
Open Strathspey and Reel
1st Callum Wynd – Duncan MacIntyre Trophy£80
2nd Andrew Hall £60
3rd Stuart McCallum £30
4th Bobby Allen 
5th John Dew

Open Piobaireachd
1stRoderick J MacLeod – The Donald Macleod Trophy£100
2nd Darach Urquhart £70
3rd John Mulhearn £40
4th Steven Leask
5th Calum Watson
6/8 March
1st Roderick J MacLeod – Duncan MacFadyen Memorial Trophy£50

•John Dew won the Former Winners MSR. Photo: JohnSlavin /
Former Winners MSR
1stJohn Dew – The Eachen Caimbeul Trophy£100
2nd Roderick J MacLeod £70
3rd John Mulhearn £40
4th Callum Wynd 
5th William Geddes 
Overall Winner: Donald MacLean Trophy
1st Roderick J MacLeod £50

•First prize winners for the SPA Professional Competition 2023: from left, Scott Garden, Finlay Frame, Keith Bowes, Andrew Hall, Roddy MacLeod, Eirean Ianetta-MacKay, Calum Wynd and John Dew. Photo: JohnSlavin /