A grand day of solo piping at South Uist Games


The historic South Uist games were held yesterday, Wednesday July 19, on the land around the famous Tom Morris-designed golf course at Askernish. In fair morning weather and sunny afternoon skies a large crowd of locals and tourists descended on the field to take in the athletics, tug of war, Highland dancing and, of course, the piping. Twelve pipers took part in the senior events in addition to the well-subscribed junior events. In the not-long ago past the winner of the Senior Piobaireachd qualified for the Bratach Gorm at the November London contest.

•Angus Macphee

Senior Piping Piobaireachd

  1. Angus MacPhee (Inverness)
  2. Iain Ruari Finlayson (Kyle of Lochalsh)
  3. Duncan Nicholson (Blackwood)
  4. Cameron May (Coalburn)
  5. Luke Kennedy (Glasgow)


  1. Angus MacPhee
  2. Duncan Nicholson
  3. James MacPhee
  4. Luke Kennedy
  5. Kevin Beaton (Balivanich)

Strathspey & Reel

  1. Angus MacPhee
  2. Callum MacMillan (Bornish)
  3. Luke Kennedy
  4. Duncan Nicholson
  5. James MacPhee
    Judges: Michael Grey, Donald John MacIntyre


  1. Duncan Nicholson
  2. Angus MacPhee
  3. Cameron May
  4. Fiona MacLean (Grimsay)
  5. Iain Ruari Finlayson

Under 18 March

  1. Hector Finlayson (Kyle of Lochalsh)
  2. Padraig MacMillan (Geardhnamonie)
  3. Caitaidh MacLean (Cladach Kirkibost)

Under 15 Piping

  1. Seonaidh Forrest
  2. Charlie MacLennan
  3. Craig MacNeil (Castlebay, Isle of Barra)
  4. Dòmhnall Eachann MacLean (Skallary, Isle of Barra)

Strathspey & Reel

  1. Seonaidh Forrest
  2. Charlie MacLennan
  3. Callum Beaton (Balivanich)
  4. Callum MacNeil


  1. Seonaidh Forrest
  2. Callum MacNeil
  3. Dòmhnall Eachann MacLean
  4. Charlie MacLennan

Practice Chanter (Beginners)

  1. Maria Beaton (Iochdar)
  2. Katie MacRury
  3. Kirsty MacPherson
  4. Mairead MacDonald

Novice Chanter

  1. Charlene Nicholson
  2. Mairi MacNeil (Bruernish, Isle of Barra)
  3. Seonaidh Beaton (Iochdar)

Open Chanter

  1. Niamh MacInnes (Smercleit)

Novice Piping

  1. Seonaidh MacLean (Skallary, Isle of Barra)
  2. Ronnie MacLennan (Inverness)
  3. Liam Beaton (Isle of Benbecula)
  4. Ciorstaidh MacLean (Isle of North Uist)
    Judge: Neil Mulvie – all junior events