Iain Speirs wins the Captain John A MacLellan MBE Memorial 2023


The Captain John A MacLellan MBE Memorial Dinner took place on Saturday, August 26 and the black tie event was held in Caledonian Hotel, Edinburgh. Iain Speirs won the event for the fifth time.

•Iain Speirs with his fifth Captain John A MacLellan MBE Memorial medal. Photo: Derek Maxwell

The event is organised by the Eagle Pipers’ Society and they are delighted to report it was a very successful evening with a record number of tickets sold. The pipers and their tunes were as follows:

  • Iain Speirs – The Edinburgh Piobaireachd
  • Willie McCallum – The Phantom Piper of Corrieyairack
  • Finlay Johnston – Salute to The Succession
  • Nick Hudson – Farewell to The Queen’s Ferry
    Judge: Patricia Henderson
•Willie McCallum, Nick Hudson, Finlay Johnston and Iain Speirs. Photo: Derek Maxwell