Trophy winners from this year's RSPS Members' Competition.
Trophy winners from the 2019 RSPS’s members’ Competition.

This year’s annual members’ competition took place recently over two Friday evenings and one Saturday at the Society’s rooms in Rose Street Lane, Edinburgh, writes Tom Lewin, RSPS Competition Convenor.

This year’s entry was increased greatly over last year’s. The standards, both of instruments presented and of tunes played, were very good. One highly esteemed and knowledgeable Honorary Member stated that he thought it was the best standard he could remember at our competition. The various events were keenly contested.

The Society’s thanks go to the judges, who did a magnificent job in presiding over this year’s events:

• Pipe Major George Lumsden and Pipe Major Michael Gray, who judged the ‘B’ Piobaireachd, Senior March and Confined March competitions, held on Friday, April 26.

• Major Gordon Rowan from The Army School of Bagpipe Music and Highland Drumming and Pipe Major Colin Simpson, 4th Bn. Royal Regiment of Scotland (Highlanders) who judged the Slow March, 6/8 March, 2/4 March and Strathspey and Reel competitions, held on Friday, May 10.

• Ian Duncan and Willie McCallum, who, during a long day, judged the ‘A’ Piobaireachd, March, Strathspey and Reel and Jig competitions, held on Saturday, May 11.

The overall prize, the Pipe Major William Ross Cup, decided by an aggregate of points awarded for places in events held on Saturday’s competition, was won this year by Dr. John Frater, narrowly defeating last year’s winner Alan Forbes. Alan won the Piobaireachd event with The Phantom Piper of Corrieyairack, John was runner up in that competition with Chisholm of Strathglass Salute.

The prizes were kindly presented by Mrs. Annette Frater, wife of one of the stalwarts of the Society, Andrew Frater.

‘B’ Piobaireachd
– 1. Alan Harper (Lament for MacDonald of Kinlochmoidar, No. 1); 2. Andrew Cook (Glengarry’s Lament); 3. Malcolm Turner Kerr (The Massacre of Glencoe).

Senior March (Members Over 65 Years of Age) – 1. Walter Gray; 2. David Livingstone; 3. Iain MacDonald.

Senior March (Best Member Over 75 Years of Age) – 1. Niall Graham-Campbell.

Slow March – 1. Alan Forbes; 2. Iain MacLeod; 3. Alan McGhie.

6/8 March – 1. Alan Forbes; 2. John Frater; 3. David Livingstone.

Confined March – 1. Kerr Cowan (Jnr.); 2. David Livingstone; 3. Martin Fiddes.

2/4 March – 1. David Livingstone; 2. Iain MacDonald; 3. Kerr Cowan (Jnr.)

Strathspey and Reel – 1. Tom Lewin; 2. David Livingstone; 3. Iain MacLeod.

‘A’ Piobaireachd – 1. Alan Forbes (The Phantom Piper of Corrieyairack); 2. John Frater (Chisholm of Strathglass’ Salute); 3. Gordon Hislop (A Flame of Wrath for Patrick Caogach).

March, Strathspey and Reel – 1. Alan Forbes; 2. John Frater; 3. Alan McGhie.

Jig – 1. John Frater; 2. Alan McGhie; 3. Iain MacDonald.

Overall – 1. John Frater; 2. Alan Forbes.