Callum Beaumont competing in the Clasp today.
Callum Beaumont competing in the Clasp today.

Callum Beaumont of Bo’ness, Scotland won the Clasp today on Day 2 of The Northern Meeting here in Inverness, writes Stuart Letford. His winning tune was The Daughter’s Lament. Callum also won the Inverness Clasp in 2018.

Stuart Liddell of Inveraray, Scotland, followed on from where he left off late last night by winning the A Grade Hornpipe & Jig contest today.

In the B Grade Hornpipe & Jig contest, John Dew of Crieff, Scotland prevailed. Matt Wilson (Pipe Sergeant of Field Marshal Montgomery Pipe Band) won the B Grade MSR.

Meanwhile, Campbell Wilson of New Zealand and Kyle Cameron of Scotland won the Under 18 and Under 15 Piobaireachd respectively. Wilson also won the MSR.

Craig Sutherland plays Lament for the Union in the Clasp competition earlier this afternoon for judges Malcolm McRae, Iain MacFadyen and Ian Duncan.
Craig Sutherland plays ‘Lament for the Union’ in the Clasp competition earlier today for judges Malcolm McRae, Iain MacFadyen and Ian Duncan.

The Clasp kicked off at 08:30 this morning when last year’s Inverness Gold Medallist, Peter McCalister took to the stage in the Empire Theatre to play Scarce of Fishing.

There was one breakdown, that of Fred Morrison. Duncan MacGillivray withdrew just before lunchtime.

The Clasp is arguably solo piping’s biggest honour for piobaireachd and this year the prize money for first place has been increased to £1,000 thanks to new sponsor, the Clan Donald Lands Trust.

Clasp – 1. Callum Beaumont (The Daughter’s Lament); 2. Jack Lee (Lament for John MacDonald, Inverness); 3. Angus MacColl (Donald Gruamach’s March); 4. Stuart Liddell (Donald Gruamach’s March); 5. Finlay Johnston (Donald Gruamach’s March).
Judges: Iain MacFadyen, Malcolm McRae and Ian Duncan.

Premier and A Grade Hornpipe & Jig – 1. Stuart Liddell; 2. Alex Gandy, Halifax; 3. Craig Sutherland; 4. Ian K. MacDonald; 5. James Duncan MacKenzie.
Judges: Iain Morrison, Willie Morrison, Neill Mulvie.

B Grade March, Strathspey & Reel – 1. Matt Wilson; 2. Jonathan Simpson; 3. John Dew; 4. Greig Canning; 5. Sandy Cameron.
Judges: Bill Wotherspoon, John Wilson and Stuart Samson

Northern Meeting logo

B Grade Hornpipe & Jig – 1. John Dew; 2. Matt Wilson; 3. Finlay Cameron; 4. Callum Moffatt; 5. Ross Millar.
Judges: Ian MacLellan and Barry Donaldson.

Under 18– 1. Campbell Wilson, New Zealand; 2. Christopher Happs, Gorebridge, Scotland; 3. Archie MacLean, Isle of Skye, Scotland; 4. Luke Kennedy, Strathaven, Scotland.
Judges: Stuart Shedden and Logan Tannock.

Kyle Cameron.
Kyle Cameron.

Under 15 – 1. Kyle Cameron, Rosemarkie, Scotland (Battle of Auldearn No. 1); 2. Archie Clark, Crieff, Scotland; 3. Euan Lindsay, Kilmacolm, Scotland; 4. Fraser Hamilton, Paisley, Scotland.
Judges: Dr Angus MacDonald and Lewis Barclay.

March, Strathspey & Reel
Under 18
– 1. Campbell Wilson; 2. Gregor MacDonald; 3. Christopher Happs; 4. Alistair Bevan.
Judges: Stuart Shedden and Lewis Barclay..

Under 15 – 1.
Judges: DrAngus MacDonald & Logan Tannock.