CLASP January competition results


By Margaret Dunn

The three overall winners of the Competition League for Amateur Solo Pipers’ (CLASP) January 2021 video submission competition reinforces the large geographical spread of members of the popular league for amateur pipers. The overall winners are:

Grade 1 – Trevor DeMass (USA); Grade 2 – Eddie Boland (Ireland) and Grade 3 – Kim Greeley (Hawaii, USA).

Full results:

Grade 1
Ceòl Mòr
– 1. Karen MacLean (A Flame of Wrath for Patrick Caogach); 2. Giovanni Guilianini (Lament for the Iolaire); 3. Trevor DeMass (Desperate Battle); 4. Evan Wraga (MacLeod’s Controversy); 5. David MacKenzie (MacLeod’s Salute); 6. Scott Long (Lament for Mary MacLeod).

Karen MacLean: winner of the Grade 1 Ceòl Mòr.

2/4 March – 1. Benjamin Elliot (John MacColl’s March to Kilbowie Cottage); 2. Scott Long (Jimmy Young); 3. Steven MacQueen (Leaving Glenurqhuart); 4. Niklas McPhee (Pipe Major John Stewart); 5. Stephen Ross (Mrs MacDonald of Dunach); 6. Trevor DeMass (Doctor E. G. MacKinnon).
Strathspey & Reel – 1. Scott Long (John Roy Stewart, Brown Haired Maid); 2. Trevor DeMass (Lady Louden, The Sheepwife); 3. David MacKenzie (Lady Loudon, Bessie MacIntyre); 4. Steven MacQueen (The Ewe Wi’ The Crooked Horn, Cockerel in the Creel); 5. Stephen Ross (Mrs Robert Reid, Willie Cumming’s Rant); 6. Calum MacNeil (The Ewe Wi’ the Crooked Horn, The Sheepwife).
6/8 March – 1. Giovanni Giulianini; 2. Steven MacQueen; 3. Robert Wilson; 4. Niklas MacPhee; 5. Trevor DeMass; 6. Rebecca Paterson.

Trevor DeMass, USA: overall Grade 1 winner.

Grade 2
Ceòl Mòr
– 1. Eddie Boland (Cabar Feidh Gu Brath); 2. James Carnegie (A Flame of Wrath for Patrick Caogach); 3. Maggie Jeschofnig (Melbank’s Salute); 4. John Nevans (The Little Spree); 5. Ben Hall (The Earl or Seaforth’s Salute); 6. Dagmar Pesta (Sir James MacDonald of the Isle’s Lament).
2/4 March – 1. Eddie Boland (Inveran); 2. Alexander MacKay (Major Manson at Clashantrushal); 3. Hans Grothusen (Donald MacLean’s Farewell to Oban); 4. Ben Hall (Pipe Major John Stewart); 5. James Carnegie (74th Farewell to Edinburgh); 6. Maggie Jeschofnig (The Duchess of Edinburgh).

Eddie Boland, Ireland: overall Grade 2 winner.

Strathspey & Reel – 1. Eddie Boland; 2. Alexander MacKay; 3. Chris Yeo; 4. David Richardson; 5. Mariko Arimoto; 6. Kurtis Bryden.
6/8 March – 1. Alexander MacKay; 2. Stuart Brown; 3. Eddie Boland; 4. Maggie Jeschofnig; 5. Stuart Letford; 6. Christopher Yeo.

Grade 3
Ceòl Mòr
– 1. Colin MacKenzie; 2. Kim Greeley; 3. Anthony Kelly; 4. Robert Cunningham; 5. Graham Hislop; 6. Andrew Robertson.
2/4 March – 1. Kim Greeley; 2. Colin MacKenzie; 3. Anthony Pyke; 4. Philip Duthie; 5. Alasdair Beaton; 6. Robert Cunningham.
Strathspey & Reel – 1. Colin MacKenzie; 2. Kim Greeley; 3. Anthony Pyke; 4. Ross Martin; 5. James Acheson; 6. Philip Duthie.
6/8 March – 1. Anthony Kelly; 2. Anthony Wardrop; 3. Kim Greeley; 4. Anthony Pyke; 5. Robert Cunningham; 6. Anna Binder.

Kim Greeley, Hawaii: overall Grade 3 winner.

Judges: Callum Beaumont, Wilson Brown, Connor Sinclair, John Dew, Dr. Peter McCallister and John Mulhearn.

CLASP organisers have already started preparing for the next scheduled event, which will also run as an online competition throughout March. Entries are now open via the CLASP website and full details for this event can be found in the News section of the CLASP website.