John Dew of Crieff, Scotland was the overall ‘Champion Piper’ at the 2021 online Atholl Gathering.

Dew notched two firsts: in the Open MSR and the Hornpipe & Jig. In the big music, Ben McClamrock scooped the A Grade, Scott Armstron the B Grade and Kyle Howie the C Grade.

Robin Sulzer from Germany was the overall Under 18 champion.


Ceòl Mòr
Premier / A Grade / Open
(seven played) – 1. Ben McClamrock (Park Piobaireachd, 2); 2. Pipe Major Ben Duncan (MacDougall’s Gathering); 3. Jamie Forrester (Battle of Bealach nam Bròg).
Judges Colin MacLellan and Ian Duncan.

B Grade (22 played) – 1. Scott Armstrong (The Big Spree); 2. John Dew (Isabel MacKay);
3. Fraser Allison (Rory MacLoude’s Lament).
Judges: Angus MacDonald and Richard Hawke (Final); Chris Armstrong and Alan Forbes (Heats).
Finalists: Anna Kummerlow, Gordon Barclay, Luke Kennedy, Ross Miller, Scott Armstrong, Alastair Murray, Fraser Allison, John Dew, Kristopher Coyle and Teddy Krogh.

C Grade (30 played) – 1. Kyle Howie (Battle of Auldearn, 2); 2. Brodie Watson-Massey (Lament for Ronald MacDonald of Morar); 3 Ryan Murray (Park Piobaireachd, 2)
Judges: Patricia Henderson and Douglas Murray (Final); Willie MacCallum, Archie MacLean and Greg Wilson (Heats).
Finalists: Brodie Watson-Massey, Cameron May, James Feeney, Ryan Murray, Fraser Maitland, Kyle Howie, Struan Moffat., Harris Maclennan, Calum Kaye, David Stulpner, Finlay Frame and Joshua Hogg.

MSR (53 played) – 1. John Dew; 2. Jamie Forrester; 3. Ashley McMicheal.
Judges: Greg Wilson and Logan Tannock (Final); Angus MacDonald, Richard Hawke, Patricia Henderson and Dougie Murray (Heats).
Finalists: Ashley McMichael, Pipe Major Ben Duncan, Brodie Watson-Massey John Dew, Ben McClamrock, Callum Colin Wynd, Cameron May, Andrea Boyd, Jack Williamson, Jamie Forrester, Ciaren Ross, Angus John MacColl, Calum Kaye, Eddie Gaul, Kristopher Coyle and Teddy Krogh.

Hornpipe & Jig (46 played) – 1. John Dew; 2. Pipe Major Ben Duncan; 3. Kristopher Coyle.
Judges: Alan Forbes and Chris Armstrong (Final); Colin MacLellan, Archie MacLean, Ian Duncan and Logan Tannock (Heats).
Finalists: Teddy Krogh, Kristopher Coyle, Pipe Major Ben Duncan, James MacHattie, Joshua Hogg, Ciaren Ross, Lachie Dick, Ben McClamrock, John Dew, Jack Williamson Angus John MacColl, Jamie Forrester, Callum Colin Wynd, Calum Kaye, Charles Morris, Peter McCallister.

Under 18 Piobaireachd – Robin Sulzer (Catherine’s Lament); 2. Laura Robertson (Field of Gold); 3. Ruaraidh Drennan (Battle of Auldearn, 1).
Judge: Anne Spalding.

Under 18 MSR – 1. Euan Lindsay; 2. Robin Sulzer; 3. Hector Finlayson.
Judge: Willie McCallum.

Under 18 Jig – 1. Robin Sulzer; 2. Laura Roberston; 3. Ruaridh Drennan.
Judge Willie MacCallum

The solo piping at the Atholl Gathering is sponsored by the William Grant Foundation,