“There were 40 entrants in the 2021 Aboyne Games online piping competitions, writes Dr. Jack Taylor. “This meant three heats for piobaireachd and two for light music. It was good to welcome guest judges Jack Lee, Bill Livingstone and Roddy S. MacDonald, and to have JonDon MacKenzie on the Aboyne bench for the first time.

“Ian K MacDonald was the overall champion, with firsts in Piobaireachd, Strathspey and Reel and Hornpipe and Jig. Aboyne regular, Gordon McReady was runner up with three seconds.

“The prizewinning performances will be broadcast on Aboyne Games Day, 7th August, on Aboyne Games social media, and I attach the programme for that. There will be fiddle-winning performances too, dancing, a smidgen of caber and the raising and lowering of the flag on an empty Aboyne Green.”


Open Piobaireachd – 1. Ian K. MacDonald (Unjust Incarceration); 2. Gordon McCready (The Big Spree); 3. Bruce Gandy (Lullaby for Colin Alexander); 4. Bobby Durning (Lament for McSwan of Roaig); 5. Brendan Eade (Lament for Donald Bàn MacCrimmon).
Judges Malcolm Macrae, Jack Lee and Bill Livingstone.

Open March – 1. Bruce Gandy; 2. Calum Brown; 3. Ashely McMichael; 4. John Dew.
Judges: Jack Lee and Logan Tannock.

Open Strathspey and Reel – 1. Ian K. MacDonald; 2. Gordon McCready; 3. Jamie Forrester; 4. Bruce Gandy.
Judges: Bill Livingstone and R. S. MacDonald.

Open Hornpipe and Jig – 1. Ian K. MacDonald; 2. Gordon McCready; 3. David Wilton; 4. Brendan Eade.
Judges: Bill Livingstone and Jack Lee.