On Saturday, September 24, the Ottawa Branch of the Pipers’ and Pipe Band Society of Ontario held the Glengarry Cup. This event marked the first in person event for the association since February 2020 and drew a crowd of almost 100, filling the room at the Army Officers’ Mess, in Ottawa. The event was held this weekend as it coincides with the National Police and Peacekeepers Memorial events on Parliament Hill, which brings in police pipe bands from outside the area.

•The Glengarry Cup: The PPBSO Ottawa Branch annual cup competition for March, Strathspey and Reel

Karine Mayers, Ottawa Branch president shared that “it was so wonderful to see the community gathered once again and welcome these performers from across the province.”

The Glengarry Cup has been awarded since the 1980s when it was donated by the Glengarry Pipe Band. Past winners include Bruce Gandy, Colin MacLellan, Michael Grey, Andrew Hayes, Rob Crabtree, Andrea Boyd, Matt MacIsaac and many others.

Twelve competitors played an MSR of their own choice and the judge was Michael Grey, president of the PPBSO.


  1. Ian K. MacDonald
  2. Andrea Boyd
  3. Daniel Carr
  4. Jacob Dicker
  5. Tyler Bridge
  6. Aidan Bowen
    Judge: Michael Grey

Also competing but not placing were: Amy Garson, Tyler Harris, Kate Kimove, Liam Melville, MacGregor van de Ven, Dylan Whittemore.

•Karine Mayers and Michael Grey present the Glengarry Cup to Ian K. MacDonald.